Aztex to Host MLS Pre-season Tourney

Major League Soccer is coming to Austin as the Austin Aztex present the inaugural ATX Pro Challenge, a four team competition bracket.

The tournament will be held Friday, February 13 through Sunday, February 15, 2015 at University of Texas at Austin’s Mike A. Myers Stadium and will feature three MLS teams.

Austin Aztex Present: ATX Pro Challenge

Date Home Away Kick-off
February 13, 2015 Crew-SCColumbus Crew SC DallasFC Dallas 5:45 pm
February 13, 2015 AztexAustin Aztex DCD.C. United 8:00 pm
February 15, 2015 Loser Semi1 Loser Semi2 1:00 pm
February 15, 2015 Winner Semi1 Winner Semi2 3:15 pm


General Admission tickets for the ATX Pro Challenge start as low as $20 for a Friday Pass, $30 for a Sunday Pass, or $40 for the full, four game Weekend Pass. Tickets for the ATX Showdown will go on sale on Friday, January 9 and can be purchased online at or through Texas Box Office.


Austin Aztex


The Austin Aztex will compete in USL PRO starting in 2015 under the helm of head coach Paul Dalglish. The team played in the USL Premier Development League (PDL) from 2012-2014 and won the 2013 League Championship in just their second year in operation, earning the USL PDL Franchise of the Year award. The Aztex finished each USL PDL among the top ten highest-drawing teams in the league and drew a record crowd of 4,754 in the 2014 playoffs.

Columbus Crew SC


Columbus Crew SC will travel to Austin for the first time since announcing its affiliation agreement with the Aztex in November. Evolving to Columbus Crew SC (Soccer Club) in 2015 ahead of the organization’s 20th season, Crew SC is Ohio’s Major League Soccer club. Owned and operated by Precourt Sports Ventures (PSV), and the League’s first club, it won its first MLS Cup championship in 2008, and has also won the 2002 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup and MLS Supporters’ Shield titles in 2004, 2008 and 2009. 2014 is the Crew’s 16th season at first-of-its-kind Crew Stadium, the first topflight soccer-specific facility built in the United States.

D.C. United



D.C. United one of the most successful professional soccer organizations in the history of the United States. United is four-time MLS Cup Champions (1996, 1997, 1999 and 2004) and winners of the 1996, 2008 and 2013 U.S. Open Cup, the 1998 CONCACAF Champions Cup, the 1998 Interamerican Cup and the 1997, 1999, 2006 and 2007 MLS Supporters Shield.

FC Dallas


FC Dallas is owned and operated by Hunt Sports Group. The professional team plays from March to November at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. One of the first soccer-specific stadiums built in the United States, the venue plays host to Major League Soccer matches, concerts, international soccer matches and high school football. The 145-acre Toyota Soccer Center also includes 17 regulation-sized, tournament-grade soccer fields and is also home to the organization’s nationally-renowned youth development system.

This entry was posted in Men, News, Pro Soccer and tagged , , , , by admin. Bookmark the permalink.

About admin

Admin is the site editor for He has been active as a trainer, director and administrator in Austin area soccer since 1989. He is a former collegiate head coach and state ODP team coach. A proud father of three average soccer players, he currently is working with a small recreational association to implement a comprehensive player development and coaching education program.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *